When most military units deploy or redeploy, they typically go through a ceremony called “casing the colors.” That is, they furl and pack away the flag only to unfurl or “uncase” the colors later. The same is as true of individuals as it is of units. At some point, the mission where they are is complete. It is time for them to retire their colors and begin a new chapter in their life. It is a moment that is poignant, equally full of pride and regret, both for those who retire and those who miss them.

There are, I suppose, generational changes in any unit. One generation retires and moves on, leaving the next generation to lead and serve. Perhaps because of my age, I find this has become an all-too-familiar experience. Those officers and NCOs who led, trained, and molded me are now leaving in greater numbers than at any time in the past. Dozens of officers and NCOs have departed in the last three years, and more are scheduled to leave soon. Some of these are post-deployment retirements. At the end of every deployment, there are always people who decide to call it a day. They’ve done their time and don’t want to risk deploying again. Especially as deployments have continued nonstop every three to five years since 2003, there has been exhaustion and weariness that has increased the flight from some units. Whatever the reason, it seems that the people who I have known longest are now leaving the National Guard.

Many of those who have left are friends and coworkers, whom I knew while I was enlisted. Recently, I found I knew less than half of the personnel in my home unit. While I miss all familiar faces, it should surprise no one that I miss most those who have influenced me. I miss greatly the officers with which I have served. Some transferred to other branches or military components. Some reached the peak of their careers and could go no higher. These are the men who commissioned me, promoted me, rated me, mentored and encouraged me, and pushed me to excellence. Yet the ones who had the greatest influence on my life were the NCOs – from command sergeant majors down to section chiefs. These men taught me to be a Soldier, to be tough yet to care for and serve others. They supported me in leading, but they also showed me how to inspire and get the most from people. When I failed or made mistakes, they taught me to stand back up and try again, to persevere until the mission is complete.

It is difficult to say how much I appreciate the integrity and honesty of these men who have influenced me. The lessons they taught me will not be forgotten. I remember the Senior NCOs who taught me to care for and honor Soldiers first, for without them the Army cannot function. I think of several logistics officers and NCOs who taught me the importance of supply and accountability in making missions successful. I deeply appreciate the brilliant officers who taught me to plan and think out of the box. Most of all, I must thank many in the rank and file who inspired me everyday to get up and keep on trudging, even when I know the work may be unpleasant. I recall with great fondness the days at the range and nights playing cards or talking. The friendships I gained are more valuable to me that I can say. I will miss you more than you know.

The good thing about casing your colors is that it means a new mission is about to begin. One day, you will arrive at your new destination and unfurl your flag. The same is true of these leaders and Soldiers who have retired. They are starting a new mission – one as private citizens in charge only of themselves – but they have a job still. They have scouted the way through a life of service and continue to advise and inspire those of us still in the game until it is time for us to come home. Until it is time for me to case my colors, know that your input is always welcome.

© 2020 J.D. Manders

Leave a comment